Jefferson County Commission
Jefferson County Commission - Information

Main CourthouseJefferson County Courthouse
716 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd North
Birmingham, AL 35203

The Commission is the governing body of Jefferson County. The five Commissioners are elected from five districts within the County for four-year terms.

The major responsibilities of the Commission are:

  • Administer the County's finances
  • Serve as custodians of all of the County's property
  • Collect taxes as set by state law
  • Allocate resources for the construction of buildings, roads and other public facilities
  • Provide for the delivery of services that by law are the County's responsibility (such as sewer service and law enforcement)
  • Make appointments to various governmental boards and agencies

Jefferson County Welcomes Our New Commission:

Commissioner Jimmie Stephens (President)

Jimmie Stephens
(President - District 3)
Commissioner - Administrative Services, Public Works and Infrastructure

Commissioner George Bowman
George Bowman
(District 1)
Commissioner - Health Services and General Services

Commissioner Sandra Little Brown
Sandra Little Brown
(President Pro Tempore - District 2)
Commissioner - Community Development
and Human Resource Services

Joe Knight
(District 4)
Commissioner - Judicial Administration, Emergency Management and Land Planning

Commissioner Joe Knight
David Carrington
(District 5)
Commissioner - Finance, Information Technology and Business Development